Home / Featured / Newcomers voted onto Tribal Council
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Newcomers voted onto Tribal Council

There were some major upsets in the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community general election Saturday.

In the Baraga District, longtime council president Warren “Chris” Swartz lost his reelection bid. Newcomer Sue Ellen Elmblad was the top vote-getter in the Baraga District, with 233 votes. Incumbent council member Kim Klopstein will continue, with 195 votes. Swartz finished just out of the running, with 191 votes, and Tyler Larson collected 189.

The top two finishers in each district will serve on the council.

In the L’Anse District, newcomer Liz Julio led the field with 291 votes. Longtime council member Susan LaFernier was second, with 186. Christopher Loonsfoot collected 158 votes. Incumbent Dale Goodreau finished fourth, with 151 votes.

Chief judge Bill Jondreau was unopposed in his bid for reelection.

Totals are preliminary, until they are certified by the Tribal Council.

Check Also

KBIC Marijuana Business Development Advances

The Keweenaw Bay Indian Community’s move into the recreational marijuana industry has taken a step …