Home / Featured / Two Baraga County commissioners retiring after term
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Two Baraga County commissioners retiring after term

The Baraga County Board of Commissioners will have at least two new faces by this time next year. Last night, board chair Bill Rolof and commissioner Dan Robillard both announced that they will not run for reelection in November. Rolof is a Democrat. He represents District Five, which includes the Village of L’Anse and most of L’Anse Township. Robillard is a Republican. He represents District Three, which includes portions of Covington and L’Anse Townships, and Spurr Township.

At last night’s meeting, Baraga County Road Commission manager Doug Mills and road commissioner Stave Koski shared concerns about the proposal to suspend the state’s road tax on gasoline. The plan passed by the Michigan legislature would turn off the tax for six months, and make up the difference with general fund money. Concern was expressed that, if gasoline prices continue to rise, it could be politically difficult to reinstate the tax when the six month moratorium ends. Mills said continuing reliance on general tax revenues would put road funding at risk.

That’s why we have the fuel tax. It was dedicated for the roads and there’s no question that’s where it’s going. It doesn’t vary from year to year.

Roughly half of the road commission’s revenue comes from the tax.

Check Also

Canal Rock Kicks Off Next Week

Canal Rock is just a week away from the first concert.  “Well, it’s part of …