Michigan State Police say that as a result of a new state law verification schedules will change for all registered sex offenders effective April 1. Verification schedules will now be based on the offender’s birth month and offenders will have the full month to verify their address rather than only the first 15 days of the month. In addition to the change in the verification schedule, sex offenders are now required to pay an annual registration fee of $50 each year after their initial registration. Failure to verify an address and/or failure to pay the registration fee are misdemeanor and could result in charges being field. Registered sex offenders, who are not currently behind bars, will receive written notice of the changes.
Houghton County February Unemployment Rate Holds Steady
Employment edged upward in the Upper Peninsula in February. Figures released yesterday by the Michigan …