Home / Featured / Incumbents Retained in KBIC Election
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Incumbents Retained in KBIC Election

The membership of the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Tribal Council will not change, following yesterday’s general election.

Unofficial results posted by the KBIC show that, in the L’Anse District, incumbents Randy Hattaja and Toni Minton were returned to office, with 236 and 218 votes, respectively. Lyndon Ekdahl received 173 votes, and Chris Voakes 154 votes. In the Baraga District, incumbents Doreen Blaker and Robert “R.D.” Curtis received 242 and 205 votes respectively. Michael Lahti polled 176 votes, and Kim Klopstein 159. Two council seats were filled from each district.

Results will not be official until they are confirmed by the Tribal government.


Check Also

M-28 Culvert Project Starting Monday in Ontonagon County

MDOT will begin culvert replacement work on M-28 over Rolston Creek on Monday. The Michigan …

[sam id="3" codes="true"]