Home / Featured / Antlerless Deer License Applications On Sale Through Aug. 15
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Antlerless Deer License Applications On Sale Through Aug. 15

The Michigan Department of Natural Resources reminds hunters that the application period for antlerless deer licenses is now open and runs through Aug. 15.

Hunters may apply for one license in any open Deer Management Unit (DMU) statewide; a nonrefundable $5 fee is charged at the time of application. Hunters may choose to apply for either one private-land or one public-land license online at E-License or at any authorizedlicense agent or DNR Customer Service Center.

Young hunters, ages 9-16, can purchase one junior antlerless deer license over the counter July 15-Aug. 15. No application is required. A 9-year-old must be 10 by Sept. 26 to purchase this license.

Any leftover antlerless deer licenses not issued in the drawing will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis beginning Sept. 8 at 10 a.m. EDT, until license quotas are met.

Antlerless deer license quotas for each DMU can be found at mi.gov/deer. Please note, DMU 333 has unlimited antlerless licenses that may be purchased without application beginning Sept. 8 at 10 a.m.

Drawing results and leftover license availability may be viewed at mi.gov/deer, beginning Sept. 1.

For additional information, the 2016 Michigan Antlerless Deer Digest is available online atmi.gov/dnrdigests.

Hunters also are reminded that chronic wasting disease has been confirmed in a free-ranging deer in Michigan. CWD is a fatal neurological disease that affects white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk and moose.

The Michigan Natural Resources Commission expanded the Core Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Area to include 17 townships. This area, which will continue to be referred to as DMU 333, now will consist of Lansing, Meridian, Williamstown, Delhi, Alaiedon and Wheatfield townships in Ingham County; DeWitt, Bath, Watertown, Eagle, Westphalia, Riley, Olive and Victor townships in Clinton County; Woodhull Township in Shiawassee County, and Oneida and Delta townships in Eaton County.

The CWD Management Zone also has expanded; it now will include the remainder of Clinton, Eaton, Ingham and Shiawassee counties, as well as all of Ionia County. The expanded Management Zone will be referred to as DMU 419. To learn more about chronic wasting disease, visit mi.gov/cwd.

Don’t forget you can purchase your $5 Pure Michigan Hunt applications anywhere licenses are sold. Hunters may buy as many applications as they want. Three lucky winners will get prize packages that include elk (Michigan residents only), bear, deer and turkey licenses; first pick at a managed waterfowl hunt area, plus firearms, crossbows and much more – a prize package worth over $4,000. For more information, visit mi.gov/pmh.

Check Also

Treat Street and Boo on the Bay kick off Halloween period

Downtown L’Anse and Houghton are both getting spooky, but not too spooky this weekend. Family …