Home / Featured / Incumbents Advance in KBIC Primary
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Incumbents Advance in KBIC Primary

All four sitting members of the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Tribal Council whose terms expire this year are among those who advanced in Saturday’s primary election. Results are unofficial until approved by Tribal leadership.

Two members will be elected from each district. The top four vote-getters from the primary will appear on the December general election ballot.

In the Baraga District, incumbents Kim Klopstein and Warren “Chris” Swartz, Jr. paced the field, with 107 and 88 votes respectively. Tyler Larson collected 71 votes, and Sue Allen Emblad garnered 66. They will join Klopstein and Swartz on the December ballot.

Other vote totals from the Baraga District include:
• Sarah Smith – 61
• Michael Lahti – 57
• Terri (Swartz) Denomie – 46
• Debi (Aaniin-Boozhoo) Williamson – 18

In the L’Anse District, newcomer Liz Julio led the field with 75 votes. Incumbents Susan LaFernier and Dale Goodreau collected 56 and 39 votes respectively. Christopher Loonsfoot received 36 votes to fill out the December slate.

Other vote totals from the L’Anse District include:
• David Haataja – 27
• Allen James Gauthier – 14

Check Also

Closing Out the Sauna Week Celebrations with a Community Forum and Expo in Hancock

National Sauna Week celebrations in Hancock will wrap up over the weekend. Tomorrow there are …

[sam id="3" codes="true"]