Home / Featured / Keweenaw Community Foundation Awards Scholarships to Local Students
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Keweenaw Community Foundation Awards Scholarships to Local Students

The following press release was issued by KCF:

Hancock, Michigan— The Keweenaw Community Foundation announces our funds’ scholarship recipients for 2019. The Foundation administrates a number of scholarships that have been established by area families and community members. These opportunities for local students support their goals in higher education and continuing education. A list of KCF’s scholarship funds and information on how to establish one is available at www.keweenawgives.org.

The Ronald & Lou Ellyn Helman Scholarship recipients are Arizona Gilles, Donald Lehtola, and Jeremiah Wakeham. The Ronald and Lou Ellyn Helman Scholarship’s primary purpose is to encourage skilled, motivated students to enter a post-secondary school offering fields of study such as carpentry, plumbing, electrical, secretarial, automotive services, etc. and to further their education in the field of their choice in order to become a skilled worker who is self-sufficient, reliable, and a contributing member of society.

The Bernard F. Gaffney Scholarship Fund recipients are Alex Pera, Anabel Needham, George Butvilas and Arianna Pugh. The Bernard F. Gaffney Scholarship Fund was established in 2000 to honor the memory of Mr. Gaffney who was the principal of Houghton High School from 1937 to 1961 and the Superintendent of Houghton-Portage Township Schools from 1961 to 1966. Mr. Ted Gaffney, along with a group of alumni from the Class of 1947, has been instrumental in establishing and promoting the scholarship fund. The purpose of the fund is to help students or graduates who demonstrate character, need, and determination to achieve their specific educational or training goals.

The Faith Lutheran Church Scholarship recipients are Brandon Garrett Antilla, Jena Lynn Dostaler, Christian Toivu Holmstrom, and Leah Mae Riutta. The Faith Lutheran Church in Calumet awards scholarships based on academic performance, demonstrated leadership potential, community involvement, and financial need. 

The Alec Fisher Memorial Scholarship Fund recipient is Sarah Martens. The Alec Fisher Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 2019 to honor the memory of Alec Fisher. It is open to currently enrolled students at Michigan Technological University at the Junior level or above, studying Environmental Engineering or Management Information Systems.

The Sean M. Williams Memorial Scholarship recipient is Justin Smith. The Sean M. Williams Memorial Scholarship is an annual scholarship to a Keweenaw Bay Indian Community member or descendent of a member to pursue a degree in the Liberal Studies Art Emphasis Program at Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College.

The Richard and Clara Fedewa Scholarship recipient is Arianna Pugh. The Richard and Clara Fedewa Scholarship is available to female high school graduates who are members of the St. Ignatius parish seeking to further their education at a college or trade school.

Check Also

MDOT Will Lift the Trunk Line Weight Restrictions on Monday

Starting next Monday the Michigan Department of Transportation will lift seasonal weight restrictions for state …

[sam id="3" codes="true"]