Home / Featured / Local Residents Honored With Spark Plug “Copper Country Strong” Award

Local Residents Honored With Spark Plug “Copper Country Strong” Award

2018 was a year that showcased the best of the Copper Country and the strong spirit of its people.

The Father’s Day Flood caused widespread devastation but local residents banded together to help their neighbors in the community.

The Keweenaw Spark Plug Awards recognizes those individuals and businesses that made a difference over the past year and the efforts of those who helped out in the aftermath of the floods did not go unnoticed.

At their awards ceremony on March 7th, hosted by the Keweenaw Chamber of Commerce, Keweenaw Economic Development Alliance, MTEC Smartzone, and Keweenaw Young Professionals at the Bonfire Steakhouse in Houghton, a special Copper Country Strong Award was presented to all the Residents in the Copper Country.

That award now hangs on the wall at the chamber office on College Avenue in Houghton.

Other nominees for the award included Kevin Store of the Portage Health Foundation, Travis Williams from Evangel Baptist Church, Tommy Crouch, and Jonathan Stone.

The Spark Plug Awards went to:

GROWTH: Keweenaw Chevrolet (nominations included Café Rosetta, IR Telemetrics, Milly’s, Nom Nom Restaurant Group, Pat’s Foods/Campioni Enterprises, Stephen Lipson, and The Fitz/Eagle River Inn)

CUSTOMER SERVICE: Superior Equipment and Events (nominations included Rayven Kotila—AmericInn Calumet, Boersma Family Roots CSA and Farm, Dr. Jane Summersett and Keweenaw Dental, Gino’s Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge, Great Lakes Minerals, KC Bonkers Toys & Coffee, Kevin Store—Portage Health Foundation, Keweenaw Natural Foods Co-Op, Melanie Eakin, Milly’s, Phil Vasquez—Diamond House International, Portage Paddle Sports, Quincy Mine Hoist Association, Sayen’s Enterprises, and Aspirus Keweenaw Hospital)

INNOVATION/TRANSFORMATION: Mount Bohemia (nominations included Arroyo Networks, Ginger Alberti, 101 Quincy Coworking, UPWARD Talent Council/Michigan Works!, and Aspirus Keweenaw Hospital)

COMMUNITY CONTRIBUTOR: Richelle Winkler (nominations included Amy Schneiderhan, Gretchen Janssen, Travis Williams, Glenn Anderson, Jennifer Beaudette, Jon Stone, Kevin Store, Nicole Collins, Pastor Brian Mason, and Portage Paddle Sports)

PROJECT OF THE YEAR: Houghton Beautification Committee (nominations included Hancock Beautification Committee, John Mueller—Keweenaw Mountain Lodge, Lonnie Glieberman, Real People Media, Red Jacket Jamboree, and Residents of the Copper Country)

YOUNG PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR: Angela Luskin (nominations included Angela Hoffman, Cassandra Mattila, Heather McGee, Lianna Miller, Jessica Bessner, Jenn Jenich-Laplander, Lynette Webber (Sharland), and Rebecca Vollrath.

Check Also

Houghton-Keweenaw County 4-H Scholarship Awarded

Hancock’s Andrew Olson is the recipient of the annual Houghton-Keweenaw County 4-H Senior Scholarship. The …