Home / News / New Leaders in the MI House and Senate
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

New Leaders in the MI House and Senate

A Republican from Ottawa County will be the next majority leader in the Michigan Senate. And a Mt. Pleasant Republican will be the next speaker of the Michigan House. Arlan Meekhof of West Olive was elected as the Senate Republican leader yesterday. He will succeed outgoing Senate Majority Leader Randy Richardville, who is leaving the Senate because of term limits. Kevin Cotter of Mt. Pleasant was elected yesterday by colleagues as the House speaker for the 2015-2016 session. In the meantime, Senate Democrat Jim Ananich of Flint was voted by fellow Democrats as the next minority leader in the Michigan Senate. Republicans control both chambers, and in January they will increase their advantage over Democrats to 63-47 in the house and 27-11 in the senate.

Check Also

Giving Tuesday: Friends of the Porkies

There are more than 100 friends of state parks groups around Michigan, but only one …