Home / Featured / Three Upper Peninsula Towns Included in DNR’s Community Forest Grant Program
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Three Upper Peninsula Towns Included in DNR’s Community Forest Grant Program

Michigan’s Department of Natural Resources has announced which townships and cities around the state will receive some help support urban forestry. Of the 24 municipalities included in the grant program, three are located in the Upper Peninsula. The Community Forestry Grant Program’s purpose is to support urban forestry efforts around the state. These programs may include management plans, educational workshops for residents, training materials for city and township employees, and encourages Arbor Day activities. The use of trees in urban spaces has been found to greatly reduce the heat that is absorbed by the concrete that makes many parts of cities. The presence of trees has also been found to improve mental health within communities. This year the state department has awarded 125,000 dollars in grants to 24 municipalities. The three Upper Peninsula locations participating in the program are the Big Bay Stewardship Council in Marquette County, the City of Ironwood in Gogebic County, and the Menominee Conservation District in Menominee County. Find out more information about the DNR’s Community Forestry Grant Program online at Michigan.gov/dnr.

Check Also

Keweenaw National Historic Parks Immerses the Copper Country with a Historic Take on the Holidays

In line with changing into the holiday season, the Keweenaw National Historic Park will invite …