Home / Sports / MHSAA Releases Football Playoff Criteria
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

MHSAA Releases Football Playoff Criteria

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has released the format for its expanded 2020 playoffs.

In the 11-player division, all teams will participate. Districts have been pre-set according to program enrollment. Matchups will be determined by playoff points accumulated during the regular season, with higher seeds hosting in the District and Regional rounds.

Three rounds of District competition will begin October 30th. The finals will take place December 4th-6th.

Here are the districts in which Copper Country teams have been placed:

Division 7, Region 25, District 49: L’Anse, Charlevoix, Harbor Springs, Lake City, Mancelona, Manistique, Roscommon, Traverse City St Francis

Division 6, Region 21, District 41: Calumet, Houghton, Gogebic, Gladstone, Westwood, Menominee, Negaunee

Division 5, Region 17, District 33: Hancock, Cheboygan, Gladwin, Kingsford, Kingsley, Ogemaw Heights, Reed City, Standish-Sterling. (Worst case scenario for the Bulldogs – the highway distance from Hancock to Standish is 418 miles!)

Not all eight-player teams will make the playoffs. 78 teams are currently participating. The top 32 in each Eight Player Division playing will make the cut, determined by playoff points.

For more details, and a full list of 11-player Districts in all Divisions, click here.

Check Also

Calumet Girls Outpoint Houghton – Wednesday Sports Wrap

High School In girls high school basketball last evening… • Calumet cruised to a 66-49 …