Home / Featured / Simonson Named to WestPAC Dream Team – Friday Sports Wrap
Frank A. Douglass Insurance Agency

Simonson Named to WestPAC Dream Team – Friday Sports Wrap


The COVID-19 coronavirus outbreak has caused historic changes to the sports schedule, both locally and nationally. Because of concerns about transmitting the virus…

  • All Michigan High School Athletic Association tournaments have been suspended. When the MHSAA made the announcement yesterday, it left open the possibility that tournaments could be resumed, if circumstances permit. With Governor Gretchen Whitmer’s subsequent order to close all Michigan K-12 schools for at least three weeks beginning Monday, tournament resumption seems very unlikely.
  • Competition in the National Hockey League, the National Basketball Association, and Major League Baseball has been suspended. MLB has pushed back the start of the regular season for at least two weeks, depending on the status of the outbreak.
  • The NCAA has canceled all of its spring tournaments, including basketball.
  • Finlandia University has canceled its entire spring sports schedule.
  • The WCHA has canceled the remainder of its hockey tournament.
  • The Great Lakes Hockey League has canceled the remainder of its regular season. Decisions about the league tournament and the Gibson Cup series will be made at a later date.
  • The Copper Country Oldtimers Hockey Tournament scheduled for March 19th through 22nd has been canceled.

Check our COVID-19 page at KeweenawReport.com for all of the latest coronavirus information and schedule changes.

High School

Houghton’s Brad Simonson has been named to the All-WestPAC Boys Basketball Dream Team.

Iron Mountain’s Foster Wonders was named Player of the Year. Negaunee’s Drew DuShane was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Miners coach Dan Waterman earned Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Simonson on the Dream Team are Marcus Johnson from Iron Mountain, Jason Waterman and Jakson Sager from Negaunee, and Justin Nelson from West Iron County.

Members of the Copper Division First Team include Eli McParlan and Trevor Torolo of Calumet, Carson Chynoweth from Hancock, Pablo Salgado from Houghton, and Peyton Williams from West Iron County.

JD Sebbas of Hancock, Will Romano of Houghton, and Brevin Antilla of Calumet earned Honorable Mention votes.

Will Twardzik of Calumet was named to the All-Defensive Team.

See the full roster here.


Before Grapefruit League competition was canceled yesterday, the Detroit Tigers lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3. Spencer Turnbull pitched three shutout innings, and Jonathan Schoop homered.

In Arizona, both of the Milwaukee Brewers’ split-squad games were rained out.

Email sports news and game results to mornings@up.net.

Check Also

Portage Township Debates Marijuana Policy

Portage Township has taken another tentative step toward creating an ordinance that would allow recreational …