At its April meeting, the Board of Education:

Heard a presentation from WMS Students on What's Happening in WMS

- congratulated Inductees in the National Honor Society along with Advisor Katie Bonacorsi:

Carolynn Bruchman	Keating Dinsmore	Isabel Flood
Hunter Golden	Nora Harmala	Isabelle Holmstrom
Brett Londo	Hailey McMahon	Ava Nagel
Bruce Parisot	Emily Peterson	Autumn Salata
Ema Schneiderhan	Hope Stroup	Hunter Tuoriniemi

- commended and congratulated the 2022 varsity & JV hockey teams and coaches Daniel Giachino, Josh Frantti & Todd Lightfoot on their seasons. The Board expressed special recognition to players on their individual honors:

Aksel Loukus – Jim Crawford GLHC Player of the Year Jackson Rilei – GLHC First Team – Forward Paul Sturos - GLHC First Team – Forward Tom Erkkila – GLHC Second Team – Defense Nolan Sturos – GLHC Honorable Mention – Forward

Academic All-State Team Award 3.04 GPA Tom Erkkila - Academic All-State Individual Jackson Rilei - Academic All State Individual Nolan Sturos - Academic All-State Individual Paul Sturos - Academic All State Individual

Tom Erkkila - All State 1st Team - Defense Aksel Loukus - All State 1st Team – Goalie Jackson Rilei - All State 1st Team - Forward Paul Sturos - All State 1st Team – Forward

Jackson Rilei – MHSHCA – All-State Dream Team

- commended and congratulated the 2022 girls' varsity and JV basketball teams and coaches' Matthew Laho and Tristan Baranowski on their seasons. The Board expressed special recognition to players on their individual honors:

U.P. Sportswriters & Sportscasters Assoc Division 3 Team of the Year			
Matt Laho	WestPAC Coach of the Year		
Marybeth Halonen	WestPAC Player of the Year		
Marybeth Halonen	UPSSA Division 1-3 First Team		
Marybeth Halonen	Academic All-State		

Jana Loukus Jana Loukus Alexis Strom Laina Kariniemi WestPAC All Conference Dream Team UPSSA Division 1-3 First Team WestPAC All Conference First Team - Copper WestPAC All Conference Honorable Mention

- commended and congratulated the 2022 boys' varsity and JV basketball teams and coaches' Frank Bonacorsi and Lenny Torola on their seasons. The Board expressed special recognition to players on their individual honors:

Kip Kangas	WestPAC All Conference First Team – Copper Div.
Dryden Nelson	WestPAC All Conference First Team – Copper Div.
Carter Kilpela	WestPAC All Conference Honorable Mention
Carter Kilpela	BCAM – Team First Award

- congratulated varsity cheerleaders and coach Karen La Cross on their seasons:

Fall Squad:	Winter/Spring Squad:	
Mckenzie Crouch	Allison Alger	
Annabella Harju	Frieda Buchner	
Briana Meneguzzo	Annabella Harju	
Vanessa Mosher	Briana Meneguzzo	
Abby Peters	Vanessa Mosher	
Sofia Rivera-Lozano	Sofia Rivera-Lozano	

- congratulated members of the varsity football team chosen to play in the 2022 U.P. Football All-Star game;

Lenny Bjorn	Carter Kilpela	Dryden Nelson
Paul Sturos	Kip Kangas	-

- congratulated Nicole Thyrion on for her performance at the Business Professionals of America State Leadership Conference and to Advisor, Elsa Green on receiving her 15 Year Service Award;

- congratulated Lila Hyrkas on placing 5th at the U.P. Spelling Bee;

- commended staff and volunteers for their participation in the successful CLK Elementary Wake Up and Read Breakfast held in the Elementary School on March 9th;

- congratulated CLK Faculty and Staff members who have been chosen as Superior Educators;

Amy Pellizzaro – December 2021 (WMS) Brooke Peterson – January 2022 (CLK Elementary) Mike Moore – January 2022 (Bus Driver)

- congratulated Cindy Twardzik, WMS 8th grade social studies teacher on being named the VFW Local/District Teacher of the Year;

- expressed appreciation to the Upper Peninsula Power Company (UPPCO) for their donation to the Calumet High School First Robotics Team;

- established Tuesday, September 6, 2022 as the first day of school for the 2022-2023 school year;

- commended School Library staff on April 2022 being School Library Month;

- commended CLK Administrative Professionals on April 27, 2022 being Administrative Professionals Day;

- commended C-L-K Educators on May 2-6, 2022 being Teacher Appreciation Week;

- commended the Washington Middle School-Community Team on their Stewardship Project being funded by the Lake Superior Stewardship Initiative (LSSI) Advisory Board;

- accepted the bid of Northern Heating & Plumbing for the 2022 Touchless Faucet & Flush Valve Install at a cost of \$226,300.00;

- were updated on what's happening in their buildings by the building principals;

- appointed Ryan Watt to the middle school boys track coach position for the 2022 season;

- appointed Scott Loukus to the assistant varsity/JV football coach position for the 2022 season.

The next regular Board meeting will be on Tuesday, May 10th at 5:30 p.m. in the Board of Education Room.